## Baldwinsville Moose Lodge #644 Takes Mixed Title

By John Arndt

While most upstate New Yorkers were spending an exceptionally warm Autumn weekend raking leaves, the Baldwinsville (B'ville) Moose Lodge #644 was playing host to 20 teams of skilled players in their 43rd Annual New York State Moose Assn. Mixed Shuffleboard Tournament on Oct. 23-25.

Moose members from B'Ville, Chenango, Cortland, Ilion, Johnstown, Johnson City, Oneida, Sidney and Rome all participated in the single elimination tournament with several lodges sponsoring two and three teams.

Although there was plenty of great food, beverages, and music supplied by a DJ, the focus was certainly on the five waxed and ready tables in the banquet room. While spectators and supporters cheered and encouraged the players, team members waiting to play studied their potential opponents, the performance of the boards, and the movement of the weights. Boards were fast. Boards were sluggish. Weights floated, whizzed, or dragged as players worked to get a sense of the harmony and balance of weight to board.

One by one teams packed it in, packed it up and vowed to return next year. By Sunday, Team 3 from Chenango, Team 2 from Johntown, Teams 2 and 6 from B'Ville had moved into the finals. The excitement mounted.

Johnstown 2 took fourth, B'Ville 2 took third. B'Ville 6 and Chenango 3 prepared to go weight to weight for the first place trophy as well as bragging rights for the year. Some boards moved along quickly and within no time, flags began to appear -- blue, red, red, blue. Suddenly, the tournament had reached the ultimate situation, tied up with one table left.

Table #5 had Linda Meyer of Liverpool and John Arndt of Waterloo, a recent transfer into Lodge #644, shooting for B'Ville against Chris Klugh and Chris (Twerp) Cornish, shooting for Chenango. B'Ville had taken the first game, Chenango came from behind to take the second. As the third and final game began, it was a toss-up as to what was higher, the excitement or the tension. Spectators and teammates cheered on their favorite team and when compelled, offered advice (although they did try to do it quietly and positively).

B'Ville took an early lead and seemed to be holding it, but Chenango kept edging closer and closer. B'Ville had the game on the board; their shots were good and were sticking, BUT...Chenango had the hammer! There it was. Chenango released the last shot.....the weight floated straight down the left side, looking good.....No! Right off the end of the board!

B'Ville takes the trophy! And what a prize it was --

for the first time in 43 years of hosting, the host lodge wins! Can it get any better than that?

Chanango's finest were Chris Klugh, Chris Cornish, Shelly Klugh, Wendy Parker, Pat Bennett, Alice Church, Ki Prosser, Ralf Barker, Dick Jeffrey, and Bob White.

The B'Ville winning team included John Arndt, Sharon and John Canino, Linda and Rick Meyer, Roy Scrieber, Barb Urganski, Jane Johnson, Al Smith, Jack Wheeler, Char Butera, and Donna Butera.

Oh, and in case you were concerned, the players involved in the tournament were given two more balmy weekends to get those leaves raked!

## Pinkston/Miller Tops at Chances R Fall Tourney

Chances R at Lake of the Ozarks, Laurie, Missouri, recently hosted its 2nd Annual Fall Tournament. Winners were Dean Pinkston and Moe Miller, with Rick Pittman and John Stenger taking second place honors. Pat Gainey and Jerry Sabourin finished third, and Dan Kelly and Steve Kane were fourth.

"We would like to thank all the players who participated and hope to see all of them back at our 2nd Annual Spring Tournament, on May 14-16," said hosts Jake Riley and Karen Brittain.

Chances R is a member of The Board Talk's national shuffleboard network.

## Missouri Hall of Fame Elects : '99 Officers

Woodie Cockrum called a meeting in early 1998 and organized the Missouri Shuffleboard Hall of Fame with volunteers. One of the rules was the elected officers would hold office for one year, with new elections once a year on Thanksgiving weekend. Anyone could run for re-election or any other office. The results of the recent election were: 1998 President Woodie Cockrum turned the gavel over to Rick Pittman for 1999; 1998 Vice President Charlie Riley moved to treasurer for 1999; 1998 Treasurer Chuck Muehlhauser moved to vice president for 1999; 1998 Secretary Carolyn Johnston stepped down and Roxanna Naylor was elected for 1999.

Trustees for 1999 are: Frank Adelen and Jim Dunn of St. Louis, Connie McCall and Rodger Ellison of Springfield; John Stinger and Dean Pinkston of Houston; Woodie Cockrum, Columbia; Jim Stanley, Cuba; Larry Cothran, Steelville; and Francis Waters, Salem.

Trustees are important. It is up to them to find and (continued on Page 19)