## 25th Annual Masters Tournament Results Ernie's Fir Cone Tavern

February 25 - 26,2006 By Dwayne Dibley

http://www.tableshuffleboard.org/February\_2006\_Results.htm

## February 25-26, 2006 (Shelton, Washington):

Ernie's Fir Cone Masters is the longest running open doubles in the Pacific Northwest. It has survived three different owners and continues to draw the best of the best from all over the country. Players have come from as far away as Maine, Pennsylvania, Indiana, Nebraska, Texas, California, and Canada. With 2 great boards and a owner who has a good shuffleboard attitude, the future look bright for Ernie's Fir Cone Masters. Teams are already forming for next years Masters. Players are searching out the right partner to create a magical moment that will lead to their names being inscribed on the trophy and their names written in history.

This years' magical moment belongs to Gary George and Jeff Kersting. They join the select few who have their names on the trophy by cruising through unbeaten to become the 2006 Ernie's Fir Cone Masters 2006 Champions. Dino Mako and Mike Waters were not without their own magic. Being behind in almost every game and still finishing second after losing their first match in this field of competitors proved to be quite a feat. Third place went to the team of Carl Roush and Dean Johnson. This is the team that proves that practice pays off. Carl and Dean have been away from the game for quite a while, but devoted the time and effort to learn the boards, and it paid off. Vern Gonzales and Mel Hohn finished fourth.

Regardless of the outcome everyone had a great time with good friends and good competition. Another benefit to the Masters is the feast provided by the Shelton Shuffleboard Community. Ernie would like to thank all the people who contributed to the success of this tournament, and all the players who gave their all. The next scheduled tournament at Ernie's Fir Cone is the Forest Festival A-B Bring your own partner on 02 -03 June, 2006. For more information on this tournament, contact Ernie (360) 426-2221.

• Note: Dwayne Dibley is a syndicated columnist for an unnamed national publication and accepts no compensation for his analysis, but merely does it for the love of the game. However I would like to clear up a minor issue. Mel Hohn (a close personal friend and college classmate) and I are indeed different people. If you are interested in having me comment on your upcoming tournament contact me at <u>ddibley@comcast.net</u>

## Fir Cone Master Winners



**1st Place (Left L-R)** Gary George & Jeff Kersting



**2nd Place (Above L-R)** "Dino" Mako & Mike Waters

and

3rd Place (no photo available) Carl Roush & Dean Johnson