American Legion Post #424 202 S. Main Street Bourbon, Indiana, 46504

Induction Ceremony

For

William "Bill" Niswonger

Into the

Indiana Shuffleboard

Hall of Fame



2017 Fall Tournament
American Legion Post #424
Bourbon, Indiana
October 7, 2017







Bill Niswonger

William "Bill" Niswonger was born November 16, 1938 and passed away on August 29, 2016. Bill was married to Marilyn A. (Sandera) Siebenmark on October 24, 1984 in Louisville, Kentucky.

Bill was a life member of The American Legion in Bourbon and the <u>VFW</u> in Rochester. He was a past governor and also received his fellowship coat from the Moose Lodge in Plymouth.

Bill has three daughters; Tammy Bernth of Millcreek, Indiana, Valerie Dunlap of Enid, Oklahoma, Terri Frick of Fontana, California, step-daughter; Rhonda Siebenmark of Three Oaks, Michigan, thirteen grandchildren and twenty greatgrandchildren.

Bill and Dick Baney (Bourbon, IN) made the display board for our Indiana Shuffleboard Hall of Fame that is upstairs in the Bourbon Post Legion 424.

Player's comments – Terry Dowell. I started playing shuffleboard in 1974-1975 and the first person I met at shuffleboard league was Bill. Bill took time to teach me the game of shuffleboard. In 1995 or 1996 Bill and I started running tournaments at the American Legion Post 424.

Gary Anglin – Bill and Terry Dowell were the main people in getting into shuffleboard. When Terry and Bill were running tournaments I would always help sift the sand for Bill. Because that was the job no one really wanted to do. My first ever win came with Bill in Ohio. We double dipped Jim Long and Glenn Ingram. Twenty some teams on one board. We rode with Jim to Ohio. So you know Jim loved that ride home. Bill also helped put two boards in my Garage and took care of them. He helped in many big tournaments there. Also his five dollar draw partners on Friday at the Legion kept everyone playing and competitive. Bill always was there for me with a good deal on weights or cases. Lol.. Really miss him coming up to me during a tournament and asking if I had any Calcutta open. And I always did. So many more stories. He will be truly missed. He was a great man and a great friend!

Dugan Bilbrey - He was the 1st person I ever played with n bourbon at journeys end never been there before walked n him & Jim was sitting there I was telling Jim I needed a partner Bill spoke up & said he'd be my partner if I didn't mind playing with a one legged man & we played went undefeated & he also became my very good friend loved him to pieces.

Mary Brown - What a great guy! Always there for anything you needed, Slick Willy to some or the one legged blind guy but could play lights out. I never a doubt that he was going around, He bought part of my Calcutta in Del City a few years ago and slept at the end of his hotel bed he just knew we (Deb Voorhis) would win and wanted to make sure he heard me drop off the money, and he was right. He was a good luck charm for me! Miss him every day.



Indiana Shuffleboard Hall of Fame

The Indiana Shuffleboard Hall of Fame was started in May 1998 with the induction of Emmett Wilcox.

The requirement for nomination in the Hall of Fame is a petition with twenty or more signatures recognizing individuals who have played and/or promoted shuffleboard in Indiana.

The American Legion Post #424 in Bourbon Indiana has a showcase highlighting the Indiana Shuffleboard Hall of Fame inductees located upstairs in their facility.

This display board was made by Bill Niswonger and Dick Baney with framing done by Robin (Weissert) Racolta.

4 1

Agenda

Welcome

Joyce Roberts – Tournament Director

Invocation

Deb Gottschalk – Chaplin Auxiliary American Legion Post 424

Hall of Fame Update

Jackie Imus (IN HOF Bd Member)

Presentation

Jackie Imus (IN HOF Bd Member) Chet Seybert (IN HOF Bd Member)

Acceptance

Bill Niswonger (posthumous) given to Marilyn Niswonger

Closing

Jackie Imus (IN HOF Bd Member)

IN Hall of Fame Inductees

Emmett Wilcox - 1998

Jim Long -1999, 2005 TSA HOF

Larry Creakbaum -1999, 2005 TSA HOF

Steve Hart – 1999

Larry Paxton – 2000

Charlie Thompson - 2000

Dale "Skip" Jackson - 2000

George "Doc" Slabaugh - 2000

Jim DeWitt - 2002

Bobby Voorhis – 2003, 2007 TSA HOF

Les "Whitey" White - 2003

Glen Ingram - 2004

Terry Dowell - 2005

Larry Brown - 2005

Deb Voorhis - 2006

Mary Brown – 2006

Mike Koontz - 2015